Tell Botpress to open the embedded chat in a hook

Hello,

I am new to JavaScript and Botpress. I am trying to make Botpress open the embedded chat on the embedded-webchat.html webpage by adding some logic to a hook. The hook will execute some logic that may decide to open the chat. How do I tell the chat window to open for a specific session in a hook? I was looking at doing bp.events.sendEvent and sending an event with type : ‘show’ (based on looking at the example webpage embedded-webchat.html which has the show/hide buttons), but I can’t seem to get it to work because it never seems happy with the arguments I give it (below). Is there an example of how to do this? Thank you.

bp.events.sendEvent({ type: ‘show’, channel: ‘web’, target: ‘’, botId: ‘my-bot’, threadId: ‘’ })

1 Like

Hie @user123, welcome to the Botpress experience.

Please clarify why you want to perform this particular action in a hook and where in the event engine this hook is executed. Please also share the hook you are trying to execute.

I am working in my before_incoming_middleware hook. So far I have made the bot send a message when the chat is loaded (as in the documentation Acting Proactively · | Developer's Guide). It then listens for an event from my external API that will tell it to open the chat in the webpage (I’m using the http://localhost:3000/assets/modules/channel-web/examples/embedded-webchat.html webpage for testing).

My code is below:

function hook(bp: typeof sdk, event: sdk.IO.IncomingEvent) {
  /** Your code starts below */

// Catch the event sent from the webpage
  if (event.type === 'proactive-trigger') {
    const eventDestination = {
      channel: event.channel,
      target: event.target,
      botId: event.botId,
      threadId: event.threadId
    }

event.setFlag(bp.IO.WellKnownFlags.SKIP_DIALOG_ENGINE, true)

bp.cms
      .renderElement(
        'builtin_text',
        {
          text: "Welcome to the bot, ask a question!",
          typing: true
        },